Passion

Yesterday was rest.  I wasn’t comfortable in it however as my mind was still churning trying to form goals for my retirement and other things.  God whispered, rest….  I just needed the rest.  I napped and read, walked and read some more.  But this morning is different.  After an amazing nights sleep I awoke early and ready.  I guess there was a reason God set only one day a week for us to rest.  So, rested I awoke to a routine (which I need) Coffee, scripture, prayer, yoga and mediation.   

 In my time meditating, which I find difficult with my busy mind, I was able to become quiet.  Just sit with the Lord and wait.  I became aware of the passion that my pastor has for vegan-ism and one church member preached on just last Sunday.  It came to mind that we all find a passion and that if filled and directed by God keeps the body (individually and corporately) alive!  We must listen to one another’s passion and remember that it may not be our own but there is much to learn from each other.

 “If we are distressed, it is for your comfort, and salvation; if we are comforted , it is for your comfort, which produces in you patient endurance of the same sufferings we suffer.  And our hope for you is firm, because we know that just as you share in our suffering, so also you share in our comfort.”  2 Corinthians 1:6,7 NIV

So my promise to “listen” more in yesterday’s meditation is followed by “reflect” on others passionate actions and words.  What does God have to say to me through them.  For I believe God uses everything in our experience to build us up, teach us and love us.  If we listen.

Leave a Reply

