Weakness and Peace

2 Corinthians 12:6-10

But if I wish to boast, I will not be a fool, for I will be speaking the truth. But I refrain from it, so that no one may think better of me than what is seen in me or heard from me, even considering the exceptional character of the revelations. Therefore, to keep me from being too elated, a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to torment me, to keep me from being too elated. Three times I appealed to the Lord about this, that it would leave me, but he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is made perfect in weakness.” So, I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.  Therefore I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities for the sake of Christ; for whenever I am weak, then I am strong.

God has called me to a ministry of healing.  Healing for the body, the mind and the spirit of seekers, which is a huge call.  Not as daunting as Jonah’s call to go to Ninavah and proclaim repentance to a sinful people, but I hope to learn from scripture.  Though I may prefer my way or to run away I think about life in the belly of a whale.  It would be dark, noisy and definitely smelly.  I would not have human companionship or fellowship which to me says it all.  We were created to be in relationship with God and one another. Added to the “good” creation if we had only put our egos aside the world would still be good.

The world we live in, through our own sin and encouraged by the ruler of darkness has created such brokenness in countries, institutions, families and individuals.  Still God calls out to us “Come to me all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens and I will give you rest”. Matthew 11:28

This call I received for healing includes teaching yoga.  As I near beginning to open this place of healing and rest I ponder my physical limitations  and wonder what in the world am I doing teaching yoga for healing? Again, scripture holds the key to understanding.  His power is made perfect in my weakness.  I must be content, supported by faithful friends and strengthened by God for the task.  Fixing my eyes on the one who came down to live among us,and hearing his call to place my burdens and those of others on him.  The rest we seek, the healing we desire is with God and may not look like our perception.  Instead, we are in all circumstances enlightened with joy and love for God and all others on this life journey near or far who are seeking to come out of the dark.  It is my prayer that others will hear and know this love and  will spread peace and healing as far as and in Ninavah.

Peace and healing through God’s grace.

Leave a Reply

